Advisory Committee

The TAAN Advisory Committee provides oversight for TAAN operations and input into the development of TAAN policy positions on HIV/AIDS issues. Committee membership is determined to assure that decision-making, communication and mobilization related to HIV/AIDS public policy is shared throughout the state.

Tennessee AIDS Advocacy Network Advisory Committee

Advisory Committee members agree to:

  • Participate in all AC meetings and conference calls
  • Offer their knowledge and experiences about HIVAIDS
  • Be open to learning about HIV/AIDS public policy issues
  • Provide constructive input into development of TAAN policy positions
  • Provide constructive input into design of TAAN activities
  • Disseminate information and materials about TAAN to individuals within their representative regions or organizations
  • Build a regional list-serve of TAAN members for communication/mobilization
  • Take primary responsibility for coordination of any TAAN activities which take place in their region (e.g., trainings, meetings, etc.)
  • Disseminate policy alerts and otherwise take primary responsibility for mobilizing individuals within their representative regions or organizations to communicate with policymakers as directed by AC Co-Chairs.

Committee Membership Criteria:  At least five members come from the different Tennessee public health districts, along with up to two representatives from the Tennessee Association of People with AIDS (TAPWA) and a liaison from the Public Policy Committee of the Nashville CARES Board of Directors.

TAAN Chapters: – a liaison from each chapter will serve on the AC

  • Southeast TN – Chattanooga
  • Northeast TN – Knoxville
  • Southwest and West TN – Memphis
  • Middle TN  – Nashville

Join Now

Together, We Can Make A Difference
  • We are committed to building a diverse network of advocates. The optional questions below help us know how we are doing.

  • I Am Interested In:

  • TAAN will never share your information. You may opt-out of TAAN mailings at any time.